What’s for lunch?

Lately I have been in a lunch rut.  It seems that I get everyone else their lunch, but when it comes to mine I’m at a loss.  I stand and stare into the fridge, trying to come up with something exciting to eat.  This week I decided I needed to get out of my funk.  On Monday I cooked one cup of quinoa, so that I would have it on hand when lunch rolled around.  I decided to make myself a quinoa salad bowl, and here is how I made it:

  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of roasted butternut squash (I used pre-cut frozen squash, roasted in the oven with olive oil)
  • 1/2 of sliced apple
  • 1/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1/4 feta cheese

    Place all of the ingredients in a bowl and top with a honey dijon vinaigrette: 1 tbsp dijon mustard, juice from half a lemon, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp honey, salt and pepper, place all ingredients in a jar and shake to combine.  Pour desired amount over your salad.

This bowl has a perfect mix of soft, crunchy, salt, sweet and tart.  I think that I am finally out of my lunch rut!

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a Reply

