Weekly meals May 6 – May 10

Meal updates from last week:
We loved all of the recipes from last week, but my favourite was the ramen.  This was the first time that the broth tasted like real ramen broth from a restaurant and wasn’t watered down.  I splurged and bought some more expensive dried porcini mushrooms that I rehydrated in boiling water and then added the liquid to my broth.  My son loved the broth, meat and veggies but didn’t loved the noodles, my daughter loved it all and ate three bowls!  I also really liked the chicken shawarma and shrimp tacos.  I made a batch of spiced yogurt muffins as I had a large amount of plain yogurt that was going to expire soon.  I wasn’t sure how they were going to turn out, but they were great warmed up with a little butter and a cup of tea.  On Friday night we went to friends for dinner, we feasted on an amazing Mexican spread that ended with tres leche cake!  On Saturday night we went out with friends for dinner and got to try a new restaurant that just recently opened.  It is called Lulu Bar, and if you have the chance you need to go!  It is a pan-Asian menu that encourages small plate sharing.  We ordered eight dishes, so we could try lots of different things on the menu.  We loved all of them!  Here is what we ordered: edamame, coconut squid, Thai sausage skewer, chicken satay, vegetable dumplings, pineapple and macadamia nut branzino, pea shoots and snap peas, bao hotdogs and for dessert the Hula pie.

This week is going to be a busy one, my son has baseball three times, plus we have some other school commitments.  We will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, we don’t have plans on Friday and then Saturday my husband is out with the guys.  Tonight we had my parents over for dinner, and celebrated Cinco de Mayo with beef and elk burritos from the @bestofbridge.  This recipe is a family favourite, and some together quickly.  I made my own taco seasoning instead of using the packet, and served sour cream, guacamole, salsa and shredded lettuce on the side.

  • Grilled salmon with steamed brown rice and sautéed green veggies.  I am going to marinate the salmon in scotch (bourbon can also be used), soy sauce and brown sugar.  The ratio is 1/2 cup for the scotch and brown sugar and 1/4 cup for the soya sauce.  Lesser amounts if you’re using a smaller salmon filet.  I am going to cook this on the BBQ plate.
  • Oven roasted pork tenderloin with garlic, mustard and herbs from @whatsinthepanblog I will serve this with roasted potatoes and steamed beans.
  • Buffalo chicken sloppy joes from @spoonfulflavor we will eat these with tater tots and a side salad.
  • BBQ chicken salad from @skinnytaste one bowl meal for the win!

The bake sale from this weekend was cancelled due to the horrible weather, so I will be making the M&M blondies this week so they are ready for the sale on Saturday.  I have no other baking plans, but who knows what will happen as the week progresses.  Make your life easier and print Grocery List 93

Happy cooking,
Sara Rumpel

Leave a comment