Weekly meals Sept. 27 – Oct. 1

Meal updates from last week:
We all really liked the teriyaki shrimp sushi bowl as well as the Korean chicken.  The pizza using the fresh dough from CO-OP turned out very well.  I like to pre-bake the dough so that it isn’t wet, and takes less time to bake.  We spent the weekend camping in the foothills.  We hiked, walked and played many games.  As always we split the meals with another family, and we ate very well.  Friday night we had BBQ chicken bowls/sandwiches, I didn’t use baked sweet potato as the bowl base, instead I used sweet potato fries and it turned out great.  Saturday morning we ate scrambled eggs with veggies, bacon, fruit and bagels.  Lunch was our usual make your own wraps or sandwiches, and dinner was Korean beef bowls with brown rice.  We do a lot of pre-cooking so that we don’t spend a lot of time cooking while we are away.

This week we are in full swing of kid activities: swimming, basketball and dance.  We will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, right now we don’t have any weekend plans.

  • BBQ beef tenderloin and chicken drumsticks, roasted garden potatoes and spinach and berry salad with balsamic vinaigrette.  We decided to BBQ tonight as the weather was so beautiful.  Our kids don’t love steak, so instead they had chicken.
  • Chicken skewer salad from @nocrumbsleft I have made many of her recipes, and I love that most are dinner salads.
  • Sausage and gnocchi soup from @foodiecrush the weather is supposed to be a bit cooler and I have a craving for soup.
  • Peanut noodle salad from @pinchofyum this recipe is similar to the Thai chicken and broccoli noodles from Anne Lindsay.  I think that this will be a winner with the kids.
  • Crockpot Hawaiian chicken from @thealmondeater I will serve this over brown rice.

I made some pumpkin muffins today using one of my most favourite recipes.  I added chocolate chips to half of the batter, and kept the other half plain.  I still have a ton of spotted bananas and if I have time I will use some of them this week.  I found this recipe for banana pumpkin muffins that sound very interesting, stay tuned!  My computer is not cooperating with me tonight so there won’t be a grocery list this week, it will be back next week.

Stay healthy,
Sara

Leave a comment