Weekly meals Jan. 10 – Jan. 14

Meal updates from week:
We enjoyed all of the meals from last week, except for the salmon, but that was because I cooked it too long.  I am still without an oven and I am finding the air fryer challenging to bake with.  It is only because I know my oven so well and have the cooking time of many proteins memorized.  Alas, I will be without an oven for a few more weeks, here’s to hoping that they are able to fix it.  This weekend we ordered sushi on Friday night and then I made spaghetti on Saturday night.  I rarely make spaghetti but thought with all of this cold weather that it would be the perfect comfort meal.

This week we will be eating at home Sunday to Thursday, we don’t have plans Friday and are heading to friends Saturday.  We all head back to school this week after an extended winter break, all extracurricular activities begin again this week.

  • Whole30 pork stir fry from @nocrumbsleft the recipes call for cauliflower rice, but my kids aren’t a fan.  I made steamed rice for them and had mine on a bed of spinach.
  • Baked chicken breasts from @skinnytaste I will serve this with a salad for the adults and some buttered pasta for the kids.
  • Cobb salad with green goddess dressing from @mandysalads cookbook.  You can find a similar recipe from @littlebrokenblog here.  I will make the kids BLAT sandwiches as they don’t love eating lettuce, but will eat it in a sandwich!  Who knows?
  • Spicy miso chicken katsu ramen from @halfbakedharvest we will see what my kids think about this recipe.
  • Leftover beef burritos from @bestofbridge I made a large amount during the break and froze half.  I will defrost and cook them in the air fryer, after topping with taco sauce and cheese.

I don’t have any plans to bake as I am without an oven.  I have used the air fryer to make muffins, but it is not ideal to bake with.  This week my kids are taking cheese buns with jam and alphabet soup in their lunches.  For fruit I am sending mixed berries (strawberries, raspberries and blackberries), kiwi and sliced apples with cinnamon.  I tend to pack too many things in their lunches, but I don’t ever want them to not have enough.  Shopping made easier using grocery list 2 22

Stay healthy,
Sara

Leave a comment