Weekly meals Nov. 19 – 23

Meal updates from last week:
As always we gobbled up all of the hamburger soup.  This batch of soup that I made was the best that we’ve ever had, and it made for delicious leftovers.  We also enjoyed the chicken pot pie soup, especially the puff pastry that is added on top of the soup.  The chicken cacciatore subs were good, I think that I liked it better the next day for lunch as the chicken mixture was more flavourful.  I didn’t get a chance to  make the beef and broccoli as my children really wanted classy chicken instead.  I didn’t bake anything last week as we were working through some sickness in our house.  I am going to make some shortbread jam bars for my husband to take to his grandmothers when he travels home this weekend.  I am also sending some nuts and bolts that I made a couple of weeks ago.

This week we will be eating at home Monday-Thursday, this weekend my husband is heading home for hunting and to visit family.  Tonight we ate at my parent’s house, we had my dad’s specialty, elk burgers.  I took a creamy apple slaw to serve alongside fries and the burgers.

  • BBQ chicken with autumn chopped salad from the @recipecritic I decided to BBQ as  it is supposed to be beautiful tomorrow.  I may add a some oven smashed potatoes as another side dish.
  • Soy ginger salmon from @wellplated we will eat this with steamed brown rice and green beans.
  • Turkey pesto meatballs from @weelicious I have shared this recipe before and if you haven’t had a chance to make it, well what are you waiting for?!
  • Pizza using Pilsbury pizza dough topped with ham, peppers, mushrooms and mozzarella cheese.  I will serve this with a green salad and some raw veggies.

Yesterday I began decorating our house for the holidays, and decided that I needed a festive drink to add to my holiday spirit.  I ended up making this pomegranate prosecco smash, which was a lovely ruby-red colour and tasted amazing.  If you are looking for a holiday cocktail to serve when company comes then give this one a try.  The Dinner List 75 is back!

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a comment