Weekly meals Nov. 26 – Nov. 30

Meal updates form last week:
The autumn chopped salad was amazing!  I saved the leftover dressing and made a salad for lunch the next day.  We also enjoyed the salmon, my son ate three pieces!  We went to friends for dinner on Saturday, I was asked to bring dessert so I tried a new scotcheroo recipe.  It was a winner, the entire plate was devoured.  You can find the recipe on www.thekitchn.com  We ate dinner at my parent’s house tonight, my dad was in charge of all the protein.  We had panko crusted ling cod with pan-fried pheasant.  On the side we had roasted brussels sprouts and coleslaw.  The fish is my absolute favourite!

This week we are eating at home Monday-Thursday, Friday night we are hosting a gingerbread party but have decided that we will order in.  We will be drinking my new favourite holiday drink, the pomegranate prosecco smash!  We have no plans Saturday, but Sunday we will head out-of-town to cut our Christmas trees.  This is an annual tradition, and something that we all look forward to every year.

  • Thai slow cooker chicken and wild rice soup from @denise_sweetpeasandsaffron I love this soup, and it tastes even better the next day.
  • Burrito bowls, I bought a package of ground turkey that I will cook with some garlic, cumin and chili powder.  I will serve this over some cilantro lime rice and then top the bowls with tomatoes, cheese and avocado.
  • Sticky honey garlic butter shrimp from @therecipecritic I will serve this with two kind of veggies.  Probably some steamed broccoli and roasted carrots.
  • Unstuffed pork chops from @foodnetwork we will eat these with a green salad and some roasted potatoes.

I made two different kinds of Christmas cookies last week, one was a flop and the other turned out very well.  I shared the recipe for the shortbread with jam filling, these were the ones that did not work at all.  I actually ended up throwing them out.  I started fresh the next day and made a batch of crispy chocolate cherry cookies.  If you are looking for a simple holiday cookie then this is it.  Take the Dinner List 76 shopping with you.

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a comment