I’m back!

Meal and travel updates:
I am finally back to a regular schedule, we are finished with camps and went on a short family vacation, and have celebrated all of our family summer birthdays!  Dinners lately have been pretty simple: grilled protein (chicken, beef or pork) paired with some garden veggies (beans or potatoes) and a simple salad.  Last week we enjoyed some homemade pizza, grilled chicken fajitas, two dinners out, turkey burgers and tonight, since it was cool some hamburger soup.  I also baked some blueberry breakfast cake that we enjoyed all week.

Last weekend we spent four nights in Vancouver for a short family vacation.  It was amazing!  My husband and I both love the ocean, and it was such a nice break for all of us.  We stayed down by the water and loved walking everywhere.  We enjoyed some delicious food: Glowbal, The Sandbar, ARC, SMAK, Oakridge and Purebread.  We kept it simple for lunches and ate a couple times poolside.  Our dinners at Glowbal and The Sandbar were very good, and even though we have younger children we still enjoyed some great food.  I would highly recommend both places.  

This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, we might be golfing Thursday night so a quick bite out might be in need.

  • Hamburger soup from @bestofbridge we ate this tonight with some raw fruit and veggies.  I added some shredded zucchini into the soup as I have so much!
  • Green goddess salmon with peach salad from @theoriginaldish I will serve this with some garden beans.  
  • Rotisserie chicken salad from @howsweeteats I decided to buy bone in skin on chicken that I will roast, instead of using a precooked chicken.
  • Potsticker noodle bowls from @iowagirleats these look delish, and you know how I feel about dinner in a bowl!

We have begun to harvest our gardens.  Currently, we have two gardens, one in the city and one a short drive outside the city.  Beans, peas and some carrots have been harvested from our city garden, and zucchini and potatoes have been harvested from our country one.  I tend to pick and use the produce as soon as possible, I will be using the zucchini in some baking.  Tonight, I made some chocolate zucchini muffins and tomorrow I am hoping to make some banana zucchini loaves.  That will leave me with four more zucchini that I will gift to others, or try to use in other recipes.  Finally the grocery list 21 23 is back!

Stay healthy,
Sara

Leave a comment