Weekly meals Nov. 1 – Nov. 5

Meal updates from last week:
We all loved the chicken tortilla soup, I topped ours with sour cream, cheddar cheese, cilantro and crushed tortilla chips.  The kids ate more than one bowl, so in my books that is a winning recipe.  My husband and I also really liked the veggie ramen, I am not sure why my kids dislike ramen noodles so much.  If I make this again I will make regular spaghetti noodles and add the broth on top for the kids.  This weekend we celebrated Halloween, Friday we ordered takeaway pizza from Lina’s Britannia and then went to Heritage Park.  Saturday we went to friends for dinner and I took a simple fruit and veggie try that I made into a candy corn.  Before trick or treating on Sunday we ate bowls of hamburger soup with cheese buns.  The kids needed full bellies before adding the candy on top!

This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, I am making a super simple dinner Thursday and then heading out to celebrate my besties birthday.  Today I opened my last can of pumpkin and made another batch of our favourite pumpkin muffins.

  • Hamburger soup from @bestofbridge I always serve this with cheese buns for dipping.  If you make the entire recipe you will have a ton of soup, so eat some for lunches and freeze the rest.
  • Thai noodles with chicken and broccoli from Anne Lindsay,  this is one of the most requested meals in our house.  Secret, it even tastes good the next day eaten cold!  I usually make this with extra veggie and no chicken.
  • Chicken Milanese with green apple salad from @justataste my kids love any type of breaded chicken as it reminds them of chicken fingers!  I might add some buttered pasta to their meal or even some fried or tots.
  • Honey garlic shrimp bowls from @peasandcrayons I will serve these with some steamed rice and rice noodles.
  • Tuscan tortellini soup with spinach and white beans from @peasandcrayons I am really loving all of her recipes and I don’t think that this one will disappoint!

I will be baking a birthday cake for our niece this weekend, she has requested funfetti with pink icing.  I found this recipe with lots of great reviews that I will be using.  The cake will be topped with a mixture of macarons and mini meringues.  With Halloween over I have to confess that I have started to think about my holiday baking.  My husband goes hunting in November and spends time with his family, this is usually when I like to send holiday baking home with him.  I always make nuts and bolts my favourite recipe is from @bestofbridge, I also like to send something sweet, but I am not sure what that will be this year.  Stay tuned for my holiday baking list, but in the meantime check this list of the top 100 Christmas cookie recipes!  There won’t be a grocery list this week as I am a day late in posting, it will be back next week.

Stay healthy,
Sara

Leave a comment