Weekly meals Feb. 24 – Feb. 28

Meal updates from last week:
All recipes from last week were winners!  The soup was one of the biggest hits, and tasted even better the next day.  The kids also really enjoyed the soup, so we will have that one again soon.  The sweet potato bowls were my favourite recipe, my kids were meh with it, but you can’t win them all.  I added some corn, used feta instead of corjita and didn’t char the peppers.  The stir fry was the easiest recipe of the week, I added riced broccoli/zucchini and shredded some carrots as well.  If you’re looking for a really quick weeknight meal then you must try it.

My husband and I spent the weekend in Vegas, enjoying some sun, shopping and food.  We ate at a few new places: Spago at the Bellagio, FIVE50 Pizza Bar at the Aria, Bardot Brasserie at Aria and Zuma at Cosmo.  The food was great at all places, service was outstanding at Spago and Zuma.  The best food we ate was at Zuma, it is modern Japanese and outstanding!

Now we are back home for a week of school and work.  We will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday and then we are heading away to ski for the weekend.

  • Easy Chicken piccata from @foodiecrush we will eat this with mashed potatoes and steamed beans.
  • Cashew tofu stir-fry from @gimmesomeoven I will serve this with some steamed rice.  Last time I made tofu my son gobbled it up, so I am hoping that it will be the same this time.
  • Korean chicken with coconut rice from @howsweeteats I am not going to make the coconut rice, instead I will use the leftover rice from the previous night.
  • BBQ sausage, baked beans and blackberry balsamic salad with goat cheese from @closetcooking the weather this week is going to be glorious, so I am opting to grill dinner one night.  The salad does call for grilled chicken but I am going to omit as I will be serving sausages.

I am planning to bake this week, so that I can take it with us when we go skiing this weekend.  Blueberries were plentiful at the store this week, so I am thinking of the banana blueberry muffin or loaf.  Ready for shopping with Dinner List 120

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a comment