Weekly meals Nov. 9 – Nov. 13

Meal updates from last week:
I LOVED the broccoli grilled cheese from @skinnytaste, paired with tomato soup it was the perfect comforting meal.  We also really enjoyed the pretzel chicken salad, the kids ate theirs like chicken fingers dipped in ketchup.  I wasn’t overly impressed with the arroz con pollo, it didn’t have enough flavour for my taste.  This weekend we had pasta with meat sauce on Friday and went to friends for charcuterie dinner on Saturday.  Our Sunday meal will be included in the meal plan.

This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, we have no plans this weekend except for some family pictures on Saturday morning.

  • Creamy chicken chili from @thelittlebrokenblog we ate this tonight and it was delicious!  For some reason my grocery store was out of green chilis, so we added pickled jalapeños on top of the chili.  It gave it that extra spice that was missing.  The addition of the cream cheese is a great idea, adds so much creaminess to the dish.
  • Pork medallions with red wine cherry sauce from @cookinglight I will serve this with roasted potatoes and green beans.  
  • Coconut lime chicken from @saltandlavender we will eat this with some steamed brown rice.
  • Meatball soup from the @mediterraneandish this sounds amazing and with the weather being colder it is the perfect way to warm up.
  • BLT salad with buttermilk dressing from @marthastewart we had this salad not long ago, but I was looking for a quick and easy dinner salad for tonight and this is the easiest!  I have some leftover buttermilk from making chocolate cupcakes, and I would hate for it to go to waste.

I don’t have any plans to bake this week, but I have been thinking and starting to plan my holiday baking.  My husband always travels home in latter November and at this time I send family photos, Christmas cards and holiday treats.  This year, as in other years, I will be making nuts and bolts from the @bestofbridge and for the sweet treat I am sending cherry almond shortbread.  I wanted easy recipes that can be packaged and arrive still in one piece.  I found it very difficult to find a recipe for the shortbread that didn’t use maraschino cherries, this is not what I was looking for!  I wanted to use dried bing cherries to contrast the warm almond flavours.  After looking through many different recipes I found one from @trishayearwood that I am going to try.  In her recipe she uses a cast iron skillet, but I am going to use aluminum pie tins, so that they can be made, baked and wrapped all in the same pan.  Stay tuned for shortbread reviews.  Shopping is so much easier using grocery list 145  

Stay healthy,
Sara

Leave a comment