Weekly meals Oct. 7 – Oct. 11

Meal updates from last week:
Favourites from last week were: Shepherd’s pie and the chicken buddha bowls.  We enjoyed the turkey sloppy joe’s, and I didn’t end up making the lo mein as we decided to have waffles instead.  All of the pumpkin muffins from last week are gone!  I’m not sure if I will make more, or try a different recipe.  This weekend I finally got the chance to make grape jelly, and pumpkin cookies to serve to friends that came for dinner tonight.  Was a highly successful Sunday of cooking!

This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Wednesday, we are going away for the long weekend, spending time with family and enjoying a non-traditional Canadian Thanksgiving.

  • Italian bolognese sauce from @fooddotcom we ate this with spaghetti, caesar salad and fresh bread.  The sauce took a long time, but let me tell you it was worth every minute!  I didn’t realize until after I serve dinner that I forgot to add the milk to the sauce.  I am not sure that it would’ve made a big difference, perhaps it would have made it creamier?
  • Barbecued chicken with autumn glow salad from @pinchofyum it looks like Monday is going to be one of the last warmish days, so I am going to take advantage and grill some chicken.  We will eat this with a salad full of fall flavours.
  • Thai coconut curry shrimp noodle bowl from @howsweeteats I am not sure if my kids will like this meal, I am crossing my fingers and will let you know.
  • BLT salad from @marthastewart this is a family favourite that I haven’t made in a long time.  My kids love eating the homemade croutons.

I still have a cup of pumpkin left over from my muffins and cookies, if time allows I will bake another pumpkin recipe this week.  I also have a recipe for banana date muffins that I’ve been told are the best muffins ever.  I bought all of the ingredients, so stay tuned to see if they are worth all of the hype!  Today my mom dropped by and gave me a new cookbook!  I cannot wait to look through Fraiche Food, Full Hearts by Jillian Harris and Tori Wesszer, the recipes that I have looked at so far look amazing!  Shopping made easier with shopping list 108

Happy cooking and Happy Thanksgiving,
Sara

 

Leave a comment