Weekly meals June 7 – June 11

Meal updates from last week:
All meals from last week were great.  I kept it super simple with grilled proteins and salads, as it was too hot to turn on the oven.  We really enjoyed the Greek drumsticks and I loved all of the salads.  When I make a salad, my kids eat all of the components excepts the lettuce, because they’ve never really enjoyed it.  I also used the rhubarb that I got from a friend and made a recipe from @smittenkitchen.  This recipe is a mix between a crisp and a bar, there is very little sugar and I think that they would be good for dessert with ice cream, or breakfast with some vanilla yogurt.

This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, Friday we are heading out camping for the weekend.  I haven’t decided on my camping menu, but when it is set I will share.  Our kids have all of their activities this week so it will be super busy!

  • Thai noodles with chicken and broccoli from Anne Lindsay, this is a recipe that I make very frequently.  I haven’t made it in a while and my son specifically asked that we have it for dinner.  It makes a large amount and I actually enjoy eating it the next day cold.  
  • Hamburger soup from @bestofbridge I will serve this with cheese buns for dipping.  This makes a large batch of soup, so I will save some for lunches and freeze the rest.
  • Tahini-marinaded chicken thighs with cucumber and tomato salad from @cookinglight
  • Breakfast for dinner, I haven’t decided if this will be waffles using Bob’s Red Mill mix, or a simple frittata with spinach and tomato.  I will serve some fruit and either bacon or sausage with our meal.
  • Teriyaki salmon sushi bowl from @myglutenfreeguide I continue to cook salmon even though my daughter is not a fan with the hopes that one day she enjoys it!

I don’t have any plans to bake this week, and I didn’t bake last week because it was too hot to turn on the oven.  I did find a recipe for apple oat cake that I am planning on making for camping this weekend.  I think that it will be delicious with some yogurt and fresh fruit.  The grocery list 20 21 is back to help you with your shopping.

Stay healthy and safe,
Sara

Leave a comment