Weekly meals August 28 – September 1

Travel update:
We just got home from a six-day vacation in Amsterdam.  We had a fabulous time and ate some amazing food.  If you are ever in Amsterdam and looking for a fantastic restaurant then make a reservation at De Kas.  It is a quintessential farm to plate restaurant with a greenhouse attached and a long-standing relationship with farmers in the area.  The menu changes from week to week depending on what is in season.  You get a five course meal at a fixed price.  For me it was the best meal of my life!  So, if you are ever planning a trip to Amsterdam you must visit this restaurant.

This is our last week of summer vacation.  My son begins grade two after the long weekend.  Since being home from Europe I have cooked twice and will include the recipes in the weekly meals.  We will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday, the weekend is unknown at this time.

  • Baked Greek meatballs from @lemonblossoms I served these with a simple cucumber, pepper and olive salad.  Next time I make these I will serve them with tzatiki on the side.
  • Steak fajita foil packs from @cremedelacrumb1 this is the second time I have made these and they didn’t disappoint!
  • Chicken caesar burgers from @iowagirleats we will eat these with grilled corn, salad and waffle fries.  This is one of my most favourite burger recipes.  As we are having company for dinner I am making grilled peaches with vanilla ice cream for dessert.
  • Pork medallions with fennel-apple slaw from @cooking light I am not sure about the slaw, so I may serve this with some roasted carrots.
  • Chili mango lime grilled chicken thighs from @nutmegnanny I will serve this with brown rice and some steamed green beans.
  • Ginger scallion chicken wraps from @whatsgabycooking I was looking for an easy weeknight meal, lets hope that I chose right!

I don’t have any baking plans this week, but that doesn’t mean that it won’t happen.  I will start looking for recipes/ideas for school lunches as it will all being soon.

This week’s Dinner List 25 is a long one!

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a comment