Weekly meals Dec. 11 – Dec. 15

Meal updates from last week:
Last week we loved all things meatball!  The turkey meatball soup with orzo was a family hit.  My daughter loved the orzo and my son loved the meatballs and the broth.  As with other soups, it got better as the days went on.  We were also big fans of the meatball sandwiches with the homemade tzatziki sauce, next time I will serve these with a Greek salad.

The weather in Western Canada continues to be unseasonably warm.  I ended up barbecuing twice last week!  This week we will be eating at home Sunday-Thursday.  We are heading to a Christmas party on Saturday night, and we may do something simple Friday or just order in.  As we spent much of today out and about I pre-planned and put a whole chicken (3 1/2 lbs.) in my crock pot this morning.  I made a seasoning mix to rub over the chicken: paprika, salt, pepper and garlic powder, and then placed the chicken in the crock pot on low for 6 hours.  We ate the chicken with mashed potatoes and steamed green beans.  This chicken was very juicy so I took the drippings and made some gravy.  Such a delicious and simple Sunday night meal!

If you follow me on Instagram you will know that I have been baking up a storm!  So far I have made nuts and bolts (recipe can be found on my Instagram feed), turtles, peanut butter kiss cookies,  snickerdoodle cookies, raspberry almond thumbprint cookies and gingerbread cake with cream cheese icing.  Although it seems like a lot of baking, most of it has been given away as gifts.  I am undecided whether or not I am finished!  Keep watching my Instagram feed for any baking additions.  Take Dinner List 38 with you to the store.

Happy cooking,
Sara

Leave a comment